Appy Memories of Deathtrap Dungeon

Appy Memories of Deathtrap Dungeon

This week the BBC’s Click programme talked about a new app based on the Fighting Fantasy game books that I loved as a kid. Now a whole generation of tech-lovers can read Ian “Deathtrap” Livingstone’s choose-your-own-adventure books without the need for a pencil, paper, eraser and some tiny dice that always got lost under a piece of furniture.

I hope these new apps are a huge success like the original books. They turned me from a reluctant reader into a voracious one. Until I discovered them, reading was a chore I did at school. I didn’t read anything at home – until one day I saw Deathtrap Dungeon in my local Woolworth’s. The cover was incredible. It showed a frighteningly ugly monster with rows of razor-sharp teeth. It was covered with slime, wallowing in a pit of green acid like Jabba the Hutt’s nastier brother.

Amazed, I had to buy it with my pocket money.

Reading that book awoke my imagination – making me excited to read for pleasure.

Those FF books were my literary introduction to horror, science fiction and fantasy.

I’ll never forget reading them.

And now, thanks to the new app, a new generation won’t either.

Adventurer, you are about to read the end of this blog post.

What will YOU do next?

Author: John Moralee

John Moralee writes crime, horror and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

