Inside a writer’s mind at New Year

cartoon inside writer mind new year

My New Year’s resolution for 2014 will have to be to finish some of the writing projects I started in 2013. That probably sounds like something easy, but I have a problem committing to a story from beginning to, uh, you know, the bit that comes after … the bit after the middle …

I think they call it “the end” – but since I haven’t seen one in a while the word may have changed.

For years I have had a huge problem finishing my first drafts, which for a writer is a fatal flaw. In an earlier blog I’ve called this problem “edititis” because it feel like a disease. It’s a form of writer’s block. I never have a problem coming up with new ideas for stories – so I always have something to write – but finishing those stories is my greatest problem.

To give you an idea of the scale of my problem, in 2013 I started writing over twenty new stories that I have not finished in first draft. These stories range in length from a few thousand words to over 25,000 words, which means, conservatively, I have written 20×10000 words – 200,000 words – without completing anything. 200,000 words is the length of three average-length novels. That figure does not include the hundred or so stories I started writing before 2013 that remain incomplete.

That’s a lot of unfinished manuscripts. Too many.

So, for 2014, I will have to knuckle down and finish the stories started in 2013. That’s my resolution – finish, finish, finish!

Author: John Moralee

John Moralee writes crime, horror and science fiction.

5 thoughts on “Inside a writer’s mind at New Year”

  1. Oh, no no! Resolutions will kill you. Instead I recommend opening one of your unfinished darlings, scrolling to the end, and typing these words: “But the rest of them lived happily every after. THE END” Now all you have to do is fill in the rest to get to that point.

    You’re welcome.

    Like

  2. Start with finishing ONE story. The great feeling you’ll have will carry you through another. If you need a break then switch to another project temporarily and then go back to that ONE story. Keep doing that until it’s complete. Give yourself permission to write badly…just finish. It’s a first draft…they’re all garbage. Editing is what makes them great, but that’s a different issue. For now, just finish the ONE. 🙂

    Like

    1. I appreciate the advice. It does feel great when a story is done. I’m almost done with a few of them now. Yesterday I had an idea for ending one with a twist – so that is finished (in first draft, at least) and I should have enough material for a story collection of around 40,000 words in about a week. Completing that will be very satisfying!

      Like

Leave a Reply

