A Drabble Drabble

A Drabble Drabble

 

This old guy leans over me as I’m working in my local library. He smells of beer and wet leaves. “What are you doing, buddy?”

“Writing a drabble.”

“A what?”

“It’s a hundred-word story.”

“Oh.” He looks confused. “What’s the point?”

“Writing?”

“No – dribbles.”

“Drabbles,” I correct.

“It’s fun writing them.”

“Whatever,” he says. His rheumy eyes stare at my computer. “Do you count all the words as you go?”

“Yeah – sometimes. Sometimes I check after and cut down.”

“Seems like wasting time,” he says, and wanders off.

I shake my head.

They really shouldn’t let politicians visit.

 

John Moralee © 2014

 

Drabbles are about as short as I thought you could get until I tried doing some with a quarter of that length. There’s a few 25-word stories here.

Author: John Moralee

John Moralee writes crime, horror and science fiction.

4 thoughts on “A Drabble Drabble”

  1. Just a curious question…. do you find the word ‘drabble’ offensive in anyway? I have a friend who does; he says the word makes it sound like a lazy, or not serious, piece of writing. I found it cute…. And now I can never get that conversation out of my head when I hear the word.

    Like

    1. No. I’ve never thought it could be offensive. I do wonder about its origin, though. Did the writer Margaret Drabble invent it? Did Matt Drabble? I don’t know the answer – but I’d like to know if someone does.

      Like

      1. Here it is from Wiki:

        Etymology 2

        From a word game in Monty Python’s Big Red Book in which the first player to write a novel wins; the UK Science Fiction fandom agreed that 100 words will suffice; not, as is sometimes stated, from the surname of the author Margaret Drabble.

        Like

Leave a Reply

