Dabbling With Drabbling

Dabbling With Drabbling

Dabbles are 100-word stories.  Writing them is an interesting challenge because it demands brevity.  I recently signed up to www.drablr.com – a website dedicated to sharing drabbles.  Members can vote on the drabbles they like, sharing them with the community.  Drablr.com counts the words for you – so you can make sure your drabbles have the right word count before you post them.  I’ve re-posted some of my dabbles below.

The Returned

 

My dad disappeared and returned fifteen years later, dressed in the same suit. “Hi, son.”

“Where’ve you been?”

“It’s a long story.”

“How long?”

“Over a hundred words.”

“That’s a pity.”

“Why?”

“I can’t fit that into a drabble.”

“I’ll abbreviate it.”

“Go on then.”

“I was abducted by aliens. They performed hideous experiments on me in their attempt to understand our race. I would have died – but one fell in love with me and helped me escape.”

I sighed and invited him in. He was lying, of course, but that didn’t matter. At least he was home again.

Our Garden

I remember we spent much time relaxing in our garden, sitting in the gazebo, holding hands like young lovers, admiring the beautiful flowers of spring and summer. The sun’s warmth and sweet air comforted you, even as our time together shortened as you weakened with age and illness.

You are gone now, my love – but I still visit our garden and think of you, for your green fingers turned the dark earth into luscious life. You brought beauty into existence with your hands.

I will always have our beautiful garden, our special place, where you were happy and mine.

Alliteration Argument

About an aeon ago, Alex and Amy arrived at an aged aunt’s abode and argued all afternoon. “Ardvaaks are anteaters, Amy. And aardwolves are also anteaters.”

“Aardwolves aren’t anteaters,” Amy asserted. “All adults accept an aardwolf as another animal altogether, Alex.”

Alex advanced, animatedly against accepting Amy’s answer as absolute. “Ask Alan. Alan agrees. Alan!”

Alan – another adolescent – answered Alex and agreed.

Amy angered. “Alan also affirms alligators are alive around Antarctica. Absolutely anything Alan announces amounts as artificial. Alan and actual accuracy are always antipodes.”

Alex abhorred Amy. “Absurd! Antipodes? Alan ain’t Australian!”

Aunt Allison approached. “Arguing? Again? Behave!”

If you like those dabbles, you can vote for them by visiting the website.

http://drablr.com/johnmoralee/drabble/byx/alliteration-argument

http://drablr.com/johnmoralee/drabble/bym/the-returned

http://drablr.com/johnmoralee/drabble/byu/our-garden

 

Author: John Moralee

John Moralee writes crime, horror and science fiction.

2 thoughts on “Dabbling With Drabbling”

Leave a Reply

